Dayan Ban is a Professor of Nanotechnology Engineering in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the University of Waterloo. He received a B.Sc. and M.Sc at the University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China. He received a Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, in 2003. During 2001-2002, he was a visiting scientist at Nortel Networks Optical Components, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. Dr. Ban was on staff at the Institute for Microstructural Sciences of the National Research Council, Ottawa, from Sept. 2002 to Oct. 2005. He was a visiting scientist at the Research Lab of Electronics at MIT, Boston, US in 2009. Dr. Ban is a senior member of IEEE/LEOS and a registered Professional Engineer in Ontario. His research interests include optoelectronic devices, quantum cascade lasers, energy harvesting devices as well as scanning probe
microscopy technique. Dr. Ban has authored or coauthored over 220 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings and has contributed 2 book chapters and 13 patents/patent applications.

Prof. Can Bayram is an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, a resident faculty at the Nick Holonyak, Jr Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory, and an affiliate faculty of the Carle Illinois College of Medicine and Health Care Engineering Systems Center of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA. He is an expert in III-V materials and photonic and electronic devices. He has performed more than 3,000+ epitaxial growths with metalorganic chemical vapor deposition systems and fabricated detectors, light emitting diodes, solar cells, resonant tunneling diodes, and transistors in class 100 and 1000 cleanrooms totaling 20,000+ hrs equipment usage. His current research interests lie in the intersection of novel III-V materials, hetero-structures, and photonic and electronic quantum devices. Particularly, his research group explores III-V materials and novel devices, hetero-integration of III-Vs on unconventional platforms such as graphene and silicon, heat transport across/through semiconductors, efficiency droop mechanisms and remedies in AlInGaN emitters, and ultra-fast THz photonics/electronics. Prof. Bayram’s work has been recognized widely. He is the recipient of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics Young Scientist Prize in Optics, IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award, an NSF CAREER Award, a CS Mantech Best Paper Award, an AFOSR Young Investigator Award, the IEEE Electron Devices Society Early Career Award, and a Best Paper Award at the 11th International Conference on Infrared Optoelectronics. For his achievements in ultraviolet-to-terahertz engineering of III-V semiconductor materials and devices, OSA, SPIE, and IEEE recognized him with senior member status. Prof. Bayram supervised/supervising 3/4 Ph.D. Theses, 1/1 M.S. thesis, 5/1 senior theses and (co-) authored 54 journal papers (h-index ≥ 25), 39 conference proceeding papers, 2 book chapters, and has ≥ 47 patents issued/pending.

Sylvain Caillol is Research Director with CNRS. He graduated engineer from the National Graduate School of Chemistry of Montpellier in 1998 and then received his M. Sc. Degree in Chemistry from the University of Montpellier. He received his PhD degree in 2001 from the University of Bordeaux. Subsequently he joined Rhodia Company. Later, promoted Department Manager, he headed the Polymer Research Department in the Research Center of Aubervilliers. In 2007 he joined the CNRS at the Institute Charles Gerhardt of the University of Montpellier where he started a new research topic dedicated to Green Chemistry and Biobased Polymers. He is also Scientific Manager of Institute Carnot Chimie Balard Cirimat. He is co-author of more than 200 articles, patents and book chapters. He won the Green Materials Prize in 2018 and 2020 and was nominated Pioneering Investigator by the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2019.

John T. W. Yeow received the B.A.Sc. degree in electrical and computer engineering, and M.A.Sc. and PhD. degrees in mechanical and industrial engineering from the University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada. He is currently a Professor and a University Research Chair in the Department of Systems Design Engineering at University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada. He is focused on the development of micro/nanodevices for a wide range of applications. He is a recipient of the Professional Engineers Ontario Young Engineer Medal, Professional Engineers Ontario Engineering Excellence Award, Natural Science & Engineering Research Canada Innovation Challenge Award, Douglas R. Colton’s Medal of Research Excellence, Micralyne Microsystems Design Award, Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation’s Early Researcher Award, University of Toronto Alumni Association 7T6 Early Career Award, 2011 IEEE NANO Excellence Paper award and IEEE Canada Outstanding Engineer Award. He was a Canada Research Chair in Micro/Nanodevices (2004 – 2019). He served as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine from 2014 – 2019, a Senior Editor of the IEEE Transactions on NanoBioscience, and an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions of Nanotechnology, and Microsystems & Nanoengineering. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, the Engineering Institute of Canada, Engineers Canada, and a Member of College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists of the Royal Society of Canada. He was a IEEE Nanotechnology Technical Council (NTC) Distinguished Lecturer, and a recipient of the 2021 IEEE NTC Distinguished Service Award.


Final Extended Paper Submission Deadlines


Final Extended Notification to Authors


Final Extended Early-Bird Registration